top of page

Visayan Electric maintains ISO certifications for QMS and EHSMS

True to its commitment to be a world-class electric utility, AboitizPower subsidiary Visayan Electric Co., Inc. (Visayan Electric) successfully maintained its Integrated Management System (IMS) certifications for several categories.

These include ISO 9001:2015 - Quality Management System (QMS), ISO 14001:2015 - Environmental Management (EM), and ISO 45001:2018 - Occupational Health and Safety Management (OHS).

TÜV Rheinland Philippines, one of the leading certifying bodies in the country, granted the recertification for QMS and surveillance for EM and OHS in February 2021 after a remote audit that was held on December 3 and 4 in 2020.

Integrated Management Representative Jeffrey Belotindos said that the 2020 IMS Audit was very challenging due to community quarantine and travel restrictions brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Despite the new normal arrangement, we were able to conduct the IMS audit through an online setup. This shows everyone’s solid commitment towards achieving our common goal and adds another remarkable milestone to the organization,” Belotindos added.

Visayan Electric passed its first QMS certification in 2018. In 2019, the electric utility gained two more certifications for EM and OHS. With the company’s efforts in keeping its service world-class, the certifications ensure that Visayan Electric remains committed to keeping the culture of excellence to the communities they serve.

"These ISO certifications will support and guide our company and all Kaibigans to maintain the highest level of quality service to our customers, adherence to our policies and guidelines, ensuring the health and safety of our teams and the public, and taking care of the environment," said Visayan Electric President and Chief Operating Officer Raul C. Lucero.

Visayan Electric, the second-largest electric utility in the country, is owned and managed by publicly-listed Aboitiz Power Corporation and Vivant Corporation. It serves the cities of Cebu, Mandaue, Talisay, Naga, and four municipalities of the greater part of Metro Cebu -- Liloan, Consolacion, Minglanilla, and San Fernando.


bottom of page